Basic beliefs of Hinduism

As you know, Hinduism is the oldest religion on the planet. It is very, very vast and has a large number of beliefs compared to other religions. It is very difficult to encompass all the beliefs of Hinduism in an article. So, here we will discuss only basic and major beliefs of Hinduism.

Belief in soul (also called as “aatma”):

This is one of the major and most important beliefs of Hinduism. What Hinduism believes is each living creature on this planet has a soul, and all these souls are the part of a Supreme Soul called “Parmatma.”  Therefore each animal in the universe has the same soul as a human being has. Therefore, the ultimate aim of human life should be to be one with the Supreme Souls, Parmatma. This is called as Nirvana or Moksha.

Before entering a human body, the soul travels through 84 million species and then is able to gain the human body. So, we should always strive in our human life to attend Nirvana or Moksha. We should not waste our life in collecting earthly things.

After death, our soul enters a new body depending on our Karma of past life. This process continues until we become one with the Supreme Soul.

Belief in Karma:

Hinduism believes that what we are now is the result of our Karma in the past life. The Karma is what we do in our life. The good things we do is called good Karma and the bad things we do is called as bad Karma or sin. Those who do bad Karma, suffer in their present life as well as their coming life until they get punished for their bad Karma. So, as a human being we should always do good Karma, so that our present life and coming life be happy.

Depending on our past life Karma, our soul enters the body of the human being or another species like animals, birds, etc.

Belief in reincarnation:

Not only Hinduism but also other major religions like Buddhism, Sikhism, and Jainism also believe in concept of reincarnation. What it is that the soul is immortal and the death is that of the body only. As we change our clothes, the soul changes body and is reborn again. It travels from one body to another body until it becomes one with the Supreme Soul. Thousands of proofs are available now on the internet that reincarnation is the truth.

Belief in multiples paths to reach the God:

Hinduism does not believe in only one path to reach the God. You can do it by multiple ways. That is what makes Hinduism a different religion.

What we eat is what we are:

As told by Lord Krishna (and accepted by the scientists worldwide now), we tend to become what we eat. The food is divided in three categories:

1. Rajasi.

2. Satvik.

3. Tamasi.

Parents, Teacher, and Food are next to God:

Hindus believe that parents, teacher, and food are next to God. Parents give us birth, nurture us, teach us values. Teachers gives us knowledge to survive in this world. Food is the thing by which we all live. Therefore, these three things have utmost importance and reverence in Hinduism.

Incarnation of Vishnu:

Yada Yada Hi Dharmasya| Glanirbhavati Bharataha | Abhutthanam Adharmasya | Tadatmanam Srijanmyaham | Parithraanaay Sadhunam | Vinashach Dushkruteha | Dharmasansthapanarthaya | Sambhavami Yuge Yuge|

Hindus believe that whenever the darkness on earth will cross its limit, whenever the Dharma will be in peril, Lord Vishnu will reincarnate himself and save the earth and protect the good people from evil. He will destroy the evil and will reinstate the Dharma.

Lord Vishnu has incarnated himself for 9 times so far. The 10th reincarnation will come soon or might have born. It will be called “Kalki Avatar.”

The 10 incarnations of Lord Vishnu are:

1. Matsyavatar

2. Kurmavatar.

3. Varahavatar.

4. Narasimhavatar.

5. Vamanavatar

6. Parashurama

7. Shree Rama.

8. Lord Krishna.

9. Gautam Buddha

10. Kalki Avatar.

6 thoughts on “Basic beliefs of Hinduism

    • it is true that Ramkrishna Paramhans was a great saint and he guided Swami Vivekananda to achieve the success he got but he was not an incarnation of Lord Vishnu. You can confirm it with any knowledgeable person on Hinduism.

  1. There is a theory in spiritualism. What i understand. There are six tatwa, which exist all the time. They are (1) Atma: infinite in number (2) Parmatama, only one but omnipresent (3) Prakriti: Made up of sat, raj and tam (4) Time: As per Einstien, there is a fourth co-ordinate which is time. Without it we cann’t explain anything. The time is beyond sun, moon and others. In other way, the Sun, Moon and others are bounded by time. (5) Akshkar brahma: Who controls this prakriti(Prakriti is a jad tatwa) (6) Sadguru: One who gives spread the knowledge of Parmatama and who can only teach us the path of nirvana(Moksha). Rest all are chadbhangun i.e will get destroyed with time.


  3. I have a question related to the post. What about the concept of heaven and hell in hinduism ?? As scriptures mention it repeatedly. How do you see this?? And if you believe in Atma, Karma and Moksha,, does it not mismatching with the concept with Heaven and hell ?? Some say that the heaven and hell are in this worlds; again it doesnot match with the descriptions mentioned in the scriptures. Will you clarify please ??

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.